Committee

The Society is run by a Committee of unpaid volunteers elected by the Members. The Officers of the Society, who are all members of the Committee, are directly elected by the Members. The BSCB Committee is comprised of eight office-holders (President, Secretary, Treasurer, Meetings Secretary, Membership Secretary, Newsletter Editor and Web Co-ordinator) and up to 12 other ordinary members, including one PhD student representative and one Postdoc representative.

The committee is always interested in hearing from cell biologists who wish to contribute to the Society’s activities. Members of the Society are encouraged to nominate candidates for the Committee or Officers positions at any time. Formal nominations should be seconded by another member of the Society. The Committee is also happy to receive un-seconded informal nominations. Nominations should be sent to the Secretary.

The Committee generally meets twice a year, at the Spring Meeting and in the Autumn in London. Additional meetings are arranged from time to time. Items for consideration by the Committee should be submitted to the Secretary .

The BSCB has charitable status (registered charity no. 265816) and has a constitution, which can be read here.  The BSCB AGM is held every year at the Spring Meeting and all BSCB members are invited to attend.

Professor Anne Ridley, FRS

President

Professor Anne Ridley, FRS : President

Randall Division of Cell and Molecular Biophysics

King’s College London

New Hunt‘s House

Guy’s Campus

London SE1 1UL

UK

Website

anne.ridley@kcl.ac.uk

Dr Vas Ponnambalam

Secretary

Dr Vas Ponnambalam : Secretary

School of Molecular & Cellular Biology
University of Leeds
Leeds LS2 9JT

Website

s.ponnambalam@leeds.ac.uk

Professor David Elliott

Treasurer

Professor David Elliott : Treasurer

Institute of Human Genetics
The International Centre for Life
Central Parkway
University of Newcastle Upon Tyne
NE1 3BZ

Website

david.elliott@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Carter

Membership Secretary

Dr Andrew Carter : Membership Secretary

MRC Lab of Molecular Biology
Francis Crick Ave
CB2 0QH

Website

cartera@mrc-lmb.cam.ac.uk

Dr Anne Straube

Meetings Secretary

Dr Anne Straube : Meetings Secretary

Lister Prize Fellow & Associate Professor in Mechanochemical Cell Biology

Director MSc in Interdisciplinary Biomedical Research

Warwick Medical School

Gibbet Hill Campus

Coventry

CV4 7AL

Website

a.straube@warwick.ac.uk

Dr Julie Welburn

Honor Fell/COB Coordinator

Dr Julie Welburn : Honor Fell/COB Coordinator
Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology
University of Edinburgh
Mayfield Road
Edinburgh
EH9 3JR
julie.welburn@ed.ac.uk

Dr Silke Robatzek

Sponsorship Secretary

Dr Silke Robatzek : Sponsorship Secretary

The Sainsbury Laboratory
Norwich Research Park
Norwich NR4 7UH
UK

Visit website

robatzek@tsl.ac.uk

Dr Ann Wheeler

Newsletter Editor

Dr Ann Wheeler : Newsletter Editor

Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine (IGMM)

University of Edinburgh,

EH4 2XU,

UK

Ann.Wheeler@igmm.ed.ac.uk

Dr Judith Sleeman

Web, Social Media and Public Engagement Officer

Dr Judith Sleeman : Web, Social Media and Public Engagement Officer

School of Biology
BSRC Complex
University of St Andrews
North Haugh
St Andrews
Fife
KY16 9ST
UK

Website

jes14@st-andrews.ac.uk

Dr Gautam Dey

Postdoc Representative

Dr Gautam Dey : Postdoc Representative

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellow

MRC Lab for Molecular Cell Biology

University College London

Gower Street

London WC1E 6BT

g.dey@ucl.ac.uk

Mélanie D. Panagi

PhD Student Representative

Mélanie D. Panagi : PhD Student Representative

Nuclear Dynamics Laboratory

School of Cellular and Molecular Medicine

Faculty of Biomedical Sciences

University of Bristol

BS8 1TD

melanie.panagi@bristol.ac.uk

Professor Maria S. Balda

Professor Maria S. Balda :

Professor of Cell Biology
Department of Cell Biology
UCL Institute of Ophthalmology
University College London
11-43 Bath Street
London EC1V 9EL

Website

m.balda@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Susana Godinho

Dr Susana Godinho :

Barts Cancer Institute – CRUK Centre

Queen Mary University of London

Charterhouse Square

EC1M 6BQ, London

Website

s.godinho@qmul.ac.uk

Professor Nancy Papalopulu

Professor Nancy Papalopulu :

Faculty of Life Sciences
University of Manchester
Manchester
UK

Visit website

Nancy.Papalopulu@manchester.ac.uk

Dr Stephen Robinson

Dr Stephen Robinson :

Stephen Robinson

Senior Lecturer in Angiogenesis and Cancer Microbiome

School of Biological Sciences

BMRC 01.02, University of East Anglia, Norwich Research Park, Norwich, NR4 7TJ

Website 1

Website 2

stephen.robinson@uea.ac.uk

Dr Jennifer Rohn

Dr Jennifer Rohn :

Centre for Nephrology

Division of Medicine

University College London

London WC1E 6BT

Website

j.rohn@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Sharon Tooze

Dr Sharon Tooze :

Senior Group Leader

The Francis Crick Institute

1 Midland Road

London NW1 1AT, UK

Website

sharon.tooze@crick.ac.uk

Mr David F. Archer

Mr David F. Archer :

Schools Liaison Officer
British Society for Cell Biology
43 Lindsay Gardens
St Andrews, Fife
KY16 8XD
UK

d.archer@talktalk.net