Committee

The Society is run by a Committee of unpaid volunteers elected by the Members. The Officers of the Society, who are all members of the Committee, are directly elected by the Members. The BSCB Committee is comprised of eight office-holders (President, Secretary, Treasurer, Meetings Secretary, Membership Secretary, Newsletter Editor and Web Co-ordinator) and up to 12 other ordinary members, including one PhD student representative and one Postdoc representative.

The committee is always interested in hearing from cell biologists who wish to contribute to the Society’s activities. Members of the Society are encouraged to nominate candidates for the Committee or Officers positions at any time. Formal nominations should be seconded by another member of the Society. The Committee is also happy to receive un-seconded informal nominations. Nominations should be sent to the Secretary.

The Committee generally meets twice a year, at the Spring Meeting and in the Autumn in London. Additional meetings are arranged from time to time. Items for consideration by the Committee should be submitted to the Secretary .

The BSCB has charitable status (registered charity no. 265816) and has a constitution, which can be read here.  The BSCB AGM is held every year at the Spring Meeting and all BSCB members are invited to attend.

Professor Jordan Raff

President

Professor Jordan Raff : President

Sir William Dunn School of Pathology
University of Oxford
South Parks Road
Oxford OX1 3RE
UK

Website

jordan.raff@path.ox.ac.uk

Dr Vas Ponnambalam

Secretary

Dr Vas Ponnambalam : Secretary

School of Molecular & Cellular Biology
University of Leeds
Leeds LS2 9JT

Website

s.ponnambalam@leeds.ac.uk

Professor Caroline Austin

Treasurer

Professor Caroline Austin : Treasurer

Institute for Cell and Molecular Biosciences
The Medical School
University of Newcastle upon Tyne
Framlington Place
Newcastle upon Tyne
NE2 4HH
UK

Fax: +44 (0)191 222 7424

caroline.austin@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Stephen J. Royle

Meetings Secretary

Dr Stephen J. Royle : Meetings Secretary

Senior Cancer Research UK Fellow
Centre for Mechanochemical Cell Biology
Warwick Medical School
University of Warwick
Coventry CV4 7AL
UK

Website

S.J.Royle@warwick.ac.uk

Dr James Wakefield

Membership Secretary

Dr James Wakefield : Membership Secretary

College of Life and Environmental Sciences
University of Exeter
Stocker Road
Exeter EX4 4QD
UK

Website

j.g.wakefield@exeter.ac.uk

Dr Julie Welburn

Honor Fell/COB Coordinator

Dr Julie Welburn : Honor Fell/COB Coordinator
Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology
University of Edinburgh
Mayfield Road
Edinburgh
EH9 3JR
julie.welburn@ed.ac.uk

Dr Silke Robatzek

Sponsorship Secretary

Dr Silke Robatzek : Sponsorship Secretary

The Sainsbury Laboratory
Norwich Research Park
Norwich NR4 7UH
UK

Visit website

robatzek@tsl.ac.uk

Dr Judith Sleeman

Web, Social Media and Public Engagement Officer

Dr Judith Sleeman : Web, Social Media and Public Engagement Officer

School of Biology
BSRC Complex
University of St Andrews
North Haugh
St Andrews
Fife
KY16 9ST
UK

Website

jes14@st-andrews.ac.uk

Professor Maria S. Balda

Professor Maria S. Balda :

Professor of Cell Biology
Department of Cell Biology
UCL Institute of Ophthalmology
University College London
11-43 Bath Street
London EC1V 9EL

Website

m.balda@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Ann Wheeler

Dr Ann Wheeler :

Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine (IGMM)

University of Edinburgh,

EH4 2XU,

UK

Ann.Wheeler@igmm.ed.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Carter

Dr Andrew Carter :

MRC Lab of Molecular Biology
Francis Crick Ave
CB2 0QH

Website

cartera@mrc-lmb.cam.ac.uk

Professor David Elliott

Professor David Elliott :

Institute of Human Genetics
The International Centre for Life
Central Parkway
University of Newcastle Upon Tyne
NE1 3BZ

Website

david.elliott@ncl.ac.uk

Professor Nancy Papalopulu

Professor Nancy Papalopulu :

Faculty of Life Sciences
University of Manchester
Manchester
UK

Visit website

Nancy.Papalopulu@manchester.ac.uk

Dr Anne Straube

Dr Anne Straube :

Lister Prize Fellow & Associate Professor in Mechanochemical Cell Biology

Director MSc in Interdisciplinary Biomedical Research

Warwick Medical School

Gibbet Hill Campus

Coventry

CV4 7AL

Website

a.straube@warwick.ac.uk

Professor Jean-Paul Vincent

Professor Jean-Paul Vincent :

MRC National Institute for Medical Research
The Ridgeway Mill Hill
London NW7 1AA
UK

Fax: +44 (0)20 8816 2109

jvincen@nimr.mrc.ac.uk

Dr Alexis Barr

Postdoctoral Representative

Dr Alexis Barr : Postdoctoral Representative

Dynamical Cell Systems Team
Institute of Cancer Research
237 Fulham Rd
London, SW3 6JB
UK

Alexis.Barr@icr.ac.uk

Mr David F. Archer

Mr David F. Archer :

Schools Liaison Officer
British Society for Cell Biology
43 Lindsay Gardens
St Andrews, Fife
KY16 8XD
UK

d.archer@talktalk.net