Committee

The Society is run by a Committee of unpaid volunteers elected by the Members. The Officers of the Society, who are all members of the Committee, are directly elected by the Members. The BSCB Committee is comprised of eight office-holders (President, Secretary, Treasurer, Meetings Secretary, Membership Secretary, Newsletter Editor and Web Co-ordinator) and up to 12 other ordinary members, including one PhD student representative and one Postdoc representative.

The committee is always interested in hearing from cell biologists who wish to contribute to the Society’s activities. Members of the Society are encouraged to nominate candidates for the Committee or Officers positions at any time. Formal nominations should be seconded by another member of the Society. The Committee is also happy to receive un-seconded informal nominations. Nominations should be sent to the Secretary.

The Committee generally meets twice a year, at the Spring Meeting and in the Autumn in London. Additional meetings are arranged from time to time. Items for consideration by the Committee should be submitted to the Secretary .

The BSCB has charitable status (registered charity no. 265816) and has a constitution, which can be read here.  The BSCB AGM is held every year at the Spring Meeting and all BSCB members are invited to attend.

Professor Jordan Raff

President

Professor Jordan Raff : President

Sir William Dunn School of Pathology
University of Oxford
South Parks Road
Oxford OX1 3RE
UK

Website

jordan.raff@path.ox.ac.uk

Dr. Grant Wheeler

Secretary

Dr. Grant Wheeler : Secretary

School of Biological Sciences
University of East Anglia
Norwich
NR4 7TJ
UK

Visit website

Fax: +44 ( 0)1603 592 250

grant.wheeler@uea.ac.uk

Professor Caroline Austin

Treasurer

Professor Caroline Austin : Treasurer

Institute for Cell and Molecular Biosciences
The Medical School
University of Newcastle upon Tyne
Framlington Place
Newcastle upon Tyne
NE2 4HH
UK

Fax: +44 (0)191 222 7424

caroline.austin@ncl.ac.uk

Dr. Stephen J. Royle

Meetings Secretary

Dr. Stephen J. Royle : Meetings Secretary

Senior Cancer Research UK Fellow
Division of Biomedical Cell Biology
Warwick Medical School
University of Warwick
Coventry CV4 7AL
UK

Visit website

S.J.Royle@warwick.ac.uk

Dr. James Wakefield

Membership Secretary

Dr. James Wakefield : Membership Secretary

College of Life and Environmental Sciences
University of Exeter
Stocker Road
Exeter EX4 4QD
UK

Visit website

j.g.wakefield@exeter.ac.uk

Dr. Richard Grose

Sponsorship Secretary

Dr. Richard Grose : Sponsorship Secretary

Centre for Tumour Biology
Institute of Cancer, Bart's and the London,
Queen Mary's School of Medicine and Dentistry,
Charterhouse
London
EC1M 6BQ
UK

Visit website

r.p.grose@qmul.ac.uk

Dr. Ewald Hettema

Honor Fell/COB Coordinator

Dr. Ewald Hettema : Honor Fell/COB Coordinator

Dep. of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
University of Sheffield,
Firth Court, Western Bank
Sheffield S10 2TN
UK

Visit website

E.Hettema@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr. Paul. Andrews

Public Engagement & Website Co-ordinator

Dr. Paul. Andrews : Public Engagement & Website Co-ordinator

Stem Cell Solutions Ltd, Dundee
Visit website

paul@stemcellsolutions.co.uk

Professor Kate Nobes

Newsletter Editor

Professor Kate Nobes : Newsletter Editor

Dep. of Biochemistry-Physiology & Pharmacology
School of Medical Sciences
University Walk
BRISTOL BS8 1TD
UK

Visit website

catherine.nobes@bristol.ac.uk

Mr David F. Archer

Mr David F. Archer :

Schools Liaison Officer
British Society for Cell Biology
43 Lindsay Gardens
St Andrews, Fife
KY16 8XD
UK

d.archer@talktalk.net

Professor Jean-Paul Vincent

Professor Jean-Paul Vincent :

MRC National Institute for Medical Research
The Ridgeway Mill Hill
London NW7 1AA
UK

Fax: +44 (0)20 8816 2109

jvincen@nimr.mrc.ac.uk

Professor Patrick J Hussey

Professor Patrick J Hussey :

School of Biological and Biomedical Sciences
University of Durham
Durham
UK

Fax: +44 (0)191 334 1201

p.j.hussey@durham.ac.uk

Professor Ana Pombo

Professor Ana Pombo :

MRC Clinical Sciences Centre
Imperial College School of Medicine
Hammersmith Hospital Campus
Du Cane Rd
London W12 0NN
UK

Fax: +44 (0)208 383 8306

Visit website

ana.pombo@csc.mrc.ac.uk

Professor Nancy Papalopulu

Professor Nancy Papalopulu :

Faculty of Life Sciences
University of Manchester
Manchester
UK

Visit website

Nancy.Papalopulu@manchester.ac.uk

Dr Silke Robatzek

Dr Silke Robatzek :

The Sainsbury Laboratory
Norwich Research Park
Norwich NR4 7UH
UK

Visit website

robatzek@tsl.ac.uk

Dr Buzz Baum

Dr Buzz Baum :

MRC Laboratory of Molecular Cell Biology
University College London

Visit website

b.baum@ucl.ac.uk

Assoc.Prof. Andrew D. McAinsh

Assoc.Prof. Andrew D. McAinsh :

Centre for Mechanochemical Cell Biology
Warwick Medical School
The University of Warwick
Coventry, CV4 7AL
UK

Visit website

andrew@mechanochemistry.org

Dr. Alexis Barr

Postdoctoral Representative

Dr. Alexis Barr : Postdoctoral Representative

Dynamical Cell Systems Team
Institute of Cancer Research
237 Fulham Rd
London, SW3 6JB
UK

Alexis.Barr@icr.ac.uk

Miss Claire Mills

Postgraduate Representative

Miss Claire Mills : Postgraduate Representative

Institute of Ophthalmology
University College London
11-43 Bath St
London
EC1V 9EL
UK

clare.mills.09@ucl.ac.uk