Hooke Medal Winners

Hooke Medal Winner 2016 – Thomas Surrey

Thomas Surrey


Biography: After completing his PhD on membrane protein folding with Prof. Fritz Jaehnig (Max-Planck-Institute for Biology, 1990-1995), Thomas undertook his postdoctoral studies with Prof. Stanislas Leibler (Princeton University, 1995-1997) and Dr. Eric Karsenti (European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) Heidelberg, 1998-2001). He then became Staff Scientist (2001), Team Leader (2002) and Group Leader (2006) at EMBL, before he was appointed Senior Group Leader at the Cancer Research UK London Research Institute (2011) which then became part of the Francis Crick Institute (2015). Thomas was elected a member of EMBO in 2012.

Using in vitro reconstitutions with purified proteins combined with advanced fluorescence microscopy, Thomas has made important contributions to our understanding of dynamic microtubule cytoskeleton function, focusing on the role of molecular motors and other microtubule associated proteins. Most recently, major progress has been made in understanding the molecular mechanisms of proteins binding to microtubule ends thereby controlling microtubule dynamics and nucleation and mediating interactions of microtubule ends with intracellular targets. Visit Thomas’ website for more information on his research.

See here for more info.

Year Winner Name Affiliation Link to Website or article
2015 Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke Bart’s Cancer Institute, London.  BSCB Website

Lab Website

2014 Anne Bertolotti MRC Laboratory of Molecular BIology, Cambridge.  BSCB Website

 Lab Website

 2013 winter newsletter

2013 Dr Eric Miska Gurdon Institute, Cambridge Eric Miska Lab
2012 Dr Holger Gerhardt Cancer Research UK, London Research Institute Website
2011 Dr. Alex Gould NIMR, London Website
2010 Dr. Karim Labib College of Life Sciences,
University of Dundee
Autumn 2009 Newsletter
2009 Dr. Erik Sahai Cancer Research UK London Research Institute Autumn 2009 Newsletter
2008 Dr Ben Nichols MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge Autumn 2008 Newsletter
2007 Dr Tomo Tanaka College of Life Sciences,
University of Dundee.
Autumn 2007 Newsletter
2006 Dr David Owen Cambridge Institute for Medical Research,
University of Cambridge
Winter 2005 Newsletter
2005 Dr Frank Uhlmann Cancer Research UK,
London Research Institute
Winter 2004 Newsletter
2004 Dr Elmar Schiebel ZMBH, Heidelberg Summer 2004 newsletter
2003 Dr Matthew Freeman Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, Oxford University Winter 2002 newsletter
2002 Dr Andrea Brand Gurdon Institute, Cambridge Summer 2002 newsletter
2001 Dr Iain Hagan CRUK Manchester Institute, University of Manchester Winter 2000 newsletter
2000 Dr Anne Ridley King’s College, Randall Institute, London Winter 1999 newsletter