Committee

The Society is run by a Committee of unpaid volunteers elected by the Members. The Officers of the Society, who are all members of the Committee, are directly elected by the Members. The BSCB Committee is comprised of eight office-holders (President, Secretary, Treasurer, Meetings Secretary, Membership Secretary, Newsletter Editor and Web Co-ordinator) and up to 12 other ordinary members, including one PhD student representative and one Postdoc representative.

The committee is always interested in hearing from cell biologists who wish to contribute to the Society’s activities. Members of the Society are encouraged to nominate candidates for the Committee or Officers positions at any time. Formal nominations should be seconded by another member of the Society. The Committee is also happy to receive un-seconded informal nominations. Nominations should be sent to the Secretary.

The Committee generally meets twice a year, at the Spring Meeting and in the Autumn in London. Additional meetings are arranged from time to time. Items for consideration by the Committee should be submitted to the Secretary .

The BSCB has charitable status (registered charity no. 265816) and has a constitution, which can be read here.  The BSCB AGM is held every year at the Spring Meeting and all BSCB members are invited to attend.

Professor Anne Ridley, FRS

President

Professor Anne Ridley, FRS : President

 

 

 

 

School of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
Biomedical Sciences Building
University Walk
Bristol BS8 1TD
London SE1 1UL
UK

Website

anne.ridley@bristol.ac.uk

Dr Vas Ponnambalam

Secretary

Dr Vas Ponnambalam : Secretary

 

 

 

 

School of Molecular & Cellular Biology
University of Leeds
Leeds LS2 9JT

Website

s.ponnambalam@leeds.ac.uk

Professor David Elliott

Treasurer

Professor David Elliott : Treasurer

 

 

 

 

Institute of Human Genetics
The International Centre for Life
Central Parkway
University of Newcastle Upon Tyne
NE1 3BZ

Website

david.elliott@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Anne Straube

Meetings Secretary

Dr Anne Straube : Meetings Secretary

 

 

 

 

Lister Prize Fellow & Associate Professor in Mechanochemical Cell Biology
Director MSc in Interdisciplinary Biomedical Research
Warwick Medical School
Gibbet Hill Campus
Coventry
CV4 7AL

Website

a.straube@warwick.ac.uk

Dr Julie Welburn

Honor Fell/COB Coordinator

Dr Julie Welburn : Honor Fell/COB Coordinator

 

 

 

 

Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology
University of Edinburgh
Mayfield Road
EH9 3JR

Website

julie.welburn@ed.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Carter

Membership Secretary

Dr Andrew Carter : Membership Secretary

 

 

 

 

 

MRC Lab of Molecular Biology
Francis Crick Ave
CB2 0QH

Website

cartera@mrc-lmb.cam.ac.uk

Dr Judith Sleeman

Web and Social Media Officer

Dr Judith Sleeman : Web and Social Media Officer

 

 

 

 

School of Biology
BSRC Complex
University of St Andrews
North Haugh
St Andrews
Fife
KY16 9ST
UK

Website

jes14@st-andrews.ac.uk

Dr Jennifer Rohn

Science Advocacy Officer

Dr Jennifer Rohn : Science Advocacy Officer

 

 

 

 

Centre for Nephrology
Division of Medicine
University College London
London WC1E 6BT

Website

j.rohn@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Chris Bakal

Sponsorship Secretary

Dr Chris Bakal : Sponsorship Secretary

 

 

 

 

Chester Beatty Laboratories
Institute of Cancer Research
237 Fulham Road
London SW3 6JB

Website

Chris.Bakal@icr.ac.uk

Dr Stephen Robinson

Joint Newsletter Editor

Dr Stephen Robinson : Joint Newsletter Editor

 

 

 

 

 

Senior Lecturer in Angiogenesis and Cancer Microbiome
School of Biological Sciences
BMRC 01.02
University of East Anglia
Norwich Research Park
Norwich, NR4 7TJ

Website 1

Website 2

stephen.robinson@uea.ac.uk

Dr Susana Godinho

Joint Newsletter Editor

Dr Susana Godinho : Joint Newsletter Editor

 

 

 

 

Barts Cancer Institute – CRUK Centre
Queen Mary University of London
Charterhouse Square
EC1M 6BQ, London

Website

s.godinho@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Gautam Dey

Postdoc Representative

Dr Gautam Dey : Postdoc Representative

 

 

 

 

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellow
MRC Lab for Molecular Cell Biology
University College London
Gower Street
London WC1E 6BT

g.dey@ucl.ac.uk

Mélanie D. Panagi

PhD Student Representative

Mélanie D. Panagi : PhD Student Representative

 

 

 

 

Nuclear Dynamics Laboratory
School of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
Faculty of Biomedical Sciences
University of Bristol
BS8 1TD

melanie.panagi@bristol.ac.uk

Professor Maria S. Balda

Professor Maria S. Balda :

 

 

 

 

Professor of Cell Biology
Department of Cell Biology
UCL Institute of Ophthalmology
University College London
11-43 Bath Street
London EC1V 9EL

Website

m.balda@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Folma Buss

Dr Folma Buss :

 

 

 

 

University of Cambridge,
Cambridge Institute for Medical Research,
Cambridge Biomedical Campus Hills Road,
Cambridge CB2 0XY, UK

Website

fb207@cam.ac.uk

Dr Carine De Marcos Lousa

Dr Carine De Marcos Lousa :

 

 

 

 

Reader  in Cell Biology and Biochemistry
Biomedical Sciences
School of Clinical and Applied Sciences
Leeds Beckett University, PD611
City Campus, Leeds LS1 3HE, UK

Website

c.de-marcos-lousa@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Jason King

Dr Jason King :

 

 

 

 

School of Biomedical Sciences,
University of Sheffield,
Firth Court,
Western Bank,
Sheffield,
S10 2TN
UK

Website

jason.king@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Sharon Tooze

Dr Sharon Tooze :

 

 

 

 

Senior Group Leader
The Francis Crick Institute
1 Midland Road
London NW1 1AT, UK

Website

sharon.tooze@crick.ac.uk

Dr Ann Wheeler

Dr Ann Wheeler :

 

 

 

 

Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine (IGMM)
University of Edinburgh,
EH4 2XU,
UK

Ann.Wheeler@igmm.ed.ac.uk

Mr David F. Archer

Schools Liaison

Mr David F. Archer : Schools Liaison

 

 

 

 

British Society for Cell Biology
43 Lindsay Gardens
St Andrews, Fife
KY16 8XD
UK

d.archer@talktalk.net