Hooke Medal

Hooke’s Microscope

The Hooke Medal is awarded every year by the BSCB and recognises an emerging leader in cell biology.  The award was first made in 2000 and is named after Robert Hooke, the eminent 17th century natural philosopher and author of Micrographia (the world’s first comprehensive illustrated book on microscopy) and is given to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to UK Cell Biology – until we extended the period of eligibility in May 2014 this had usually been within the first 10 years of establishing their own lab. The medal is presented annually at the annual Spring Meeting after which the winner delivers their research talk.  You can peruse the list of previous winners of the Hooke Medal.

hooke medal

The medal shows Robert Hooke’s microscope and the cork cells he first described. It was designed by Dr Brad Amos.

Since 2015, the Hooke Medal has been awarded to a cell biologist who started their own group within the last 14 years (with allowances for legitimate career breaks).

The BSCB accepts nominations for the Hooke Medal at any time. Candidates must provide a full CV and have to be nominated by two BSCB members who should both provide a short summary of the candidate’s major contributions to cell biology. Nominations should be sent to the BSCB Secretary, Vas Ponambalam. If you would like more information about eligibility or the nomination procedure, please contact the BSCB secretary or the membership secretary, Andrew Carter. The winner will be selected by the BSCB Committee and will be presented with their medal at the BSCB/BSDB Annual Spring Meeting where they will deliver their Medal Lecture.  

The winner of the 2019 Hooke medal is Eugenia Piddini

Previous winners of the Hooke Medal.