BSCB Young Cell Biologist of the Year

Each year, during the Spring Meeting, a committee of eminent cell biologists selects the best poster presentation made by a PhD student and awards the BSCB Young Cell Biologist of the Year Prize.

The 2018 winner is Cerys Currie, University of Warwick.

Runner up: Mustafa Aydogan, University of Oxford.


Ph.D. students who have not yet received their degree must be first author and presenter of a poster at the meeting in any area of cell biology. The student must be a BSCB member and registered at the BSCB Spring Meeting. In accepting the award the winner agrees to write a report on the ASCB meeting for the BSCB Newsletter.

Prize: An expenses-paid trip to the American Society for Cell Biology Annual Meeting, which is held in the November or December following the award. The winner’s report on the meeting is published in the BSCB Newsletter.

Previous winners:

2017 Christina Dix, University College London.

Runner up: Sophie Adams, Bart’s Cancer Institute.

2016 Emma Stewart, Coverley lab, University of York.

Runners up: Alex Pool, Godinho lab, Bart’s Cancer Institute, London and Saroj Saurja, Raff lab, University of Oxford.

2015 Sam Crossman, Vincent lab, NIMR, Mill Hill, London.