Hooke Medal Winners

Hooke Medal Winner 2018

Andrew McAinsh

Following a PhD at the University of Cambridge with Steve Jackson (1997-2001), Andrew moved to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA to train with Peter Sorger. Here, as a Jane Coffin Childs Fellow, his enthusiasm for kinetochore biology was ignited. He returned to the UK in 2005 to establish his independent laboratory at the Marie Curie Research Institute, before moving to the University of Warwick in 2009 to co-found the Centre for Mechanochemical Cell Biology (CMCB). In 2014 he was appointed Professor of Cell Biology and became a Wellcome Senior Investigator. He was then awarded a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award for his work on chromosome segregation in 2015. He co-directs the MRC Doctoral Training Partnership in Interdisciplinary Biomedical Research, and this year, became Head of Division of Biomedical Sciences at Warwick Medical School. Andrew’s laboratory has made important contributions to understanding how human cells ensure error-free chromosome segregation using a combination of live-cell quantitative microscopy, in vitro reconstitution and computational methods. Most recently he has revealed novel features of the kinetochore – the multi-protein assemblies that physically connect chromosomes to microtubules. Visit Andrew’s website for more information on his research.

You can watch Andrew’s medal lecture on the BSCB YouTube channel here.


Year Winner Name Affiliation Link to Website or article
2017 Ewa Paluch MRC LMB University College, London BSCB Website

Lab Website

2016 Thomas Surrey Crick Institute, London BSCB Website

Lab Website

2015 Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke Bart’s Cancer Institute, London.  BSCB Website

Lab Website

2014 Anne Bertolotti MRC Laboratory of Molecular BIology, Cambridge.  BSCB Website

 Lab Website

2013 Dr Eric Miska Gurdon Institute, Cambridge Website
2012 Dr Holger Gerhardt Cancer Research UK, London Research Institute Website
2011 Dr. Alex Gould NIMR, London Website
2010 Dr. Karim Labib College of Life Sciences,
University of Dundee
2009 Dr. Erik Sahai Cancer Research UK London Research Institute Website
2008 Dr Ben Nichols MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge Website
2007 Dr Tomo Tanaka College of Life Sciences,
University of Dundee.
2006 Dr David Owen Cambridge Institute for Medical Research,
University of Cambridge
2005 Dr Frank Uhlmann Cancer Research UK,
London Research Institute
2004 Dr Elmar Schiebel ZMBH, Heidelberg Website
2003 Dr Matthew Freeman Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, Oxford University Website
2002 Dr Andrea Brand Gurdon Institute, Cambridge website
2001 Dr Iain Hagan CRUK Manchester Institute, University of Manchester Website
2000 Dr Anne Ridley King’s College, Randall Institute, London Website